Awards and Accreditation

We are a leading heritage practitioner that promotes excellence and sound working practices within our workforce and the sector. Our staff members are qualified professionals and all of our on site staff hold current CSCS cards (Construction Skills Certificate Scheme) and are trained in health and safety protocols. MOLA’s accreditations include:

We are honoured to have received a number of prestigious awards for our projects, publications and public programmes. The awards received include:


Ralph Merrifield Award
Awarded in collaboration with Historic England for the contribution that the Greater London backlog publication programme has made to the study of London archaeology.


London Archaeologist book prize
2nd place awarded to MOLA for Lundenwic: excavations in Middle Saxon London, 1987–2000, Robert Cowie, Lyn Blackmore, with Anne Davis, Jackie Keily, Kevin Rielly (2012)

British Archaeological Awards for Best Archaeological Project
Awarded for Bloomberg London

Current Archaeology Awards Book of the Year
MOLA’s Shakespeare’s London theatreland; archaeology, history and drama, Julian Bowsher (2012)

Training Award from the Archaeology Training Forum
Awarded to the Thames Discovery Programme

British Archaeological Award for Best Community Project
Awarded to the Thames Discovery Programme

Current Archaeology Book of the Year
MOLA’s 'The Rose and Globe - playhouses of Shakespeare's Bankside, Southwark', Julian Bowsher & Pat Miller (2009).

British Archaeological Award for Best Representation of Archaeology in the Media
Awarded to the Thames Discovery Programme website (HLF-funded phase at TEP / TET)

London Archaeological Prize 2010
'The Rose and Globe - playhouses of Shakespeare's Bankside, Southwark', Julian Bowsher & Pat Miller (2009) won this bi-annual prize for the best publication about London's archaeology in the last 2 years. It was also shortlisted in the 'Best Archaeological Book' category for the 2010 British Archaeological Awards.

British Archaeological Book Awards, Best Scholarly Archaeological Book
The MOLA publication ‘The London Guildhall: an archaeological history of neighbourhood from early medieval to modern times’, Isca Howell, David Bowsher, Tony Dyson and Nick Holder (2007) won 'Highly Commended'

SCOLA (Standing Conference on London Archaeology) in conjunction with the London Archaeologist prize for archaeological publication
MOLA’s publication ‘From Ice Age to Essex: a history of the people and landscape of East London’, Pamela Greenwood, Dominic Perring and Peter Rowsome (2006)

Study Group for Roman Pottery’s John Gillam Award
Awarded to MOLA for the publication “Roman pottery production in the Walbrook valley: Excavations at 20-28 Moorgate, City of London, 1998-2000”, MOLA monograph 25, Fiona Seeley and James Drummond-Murray.

British Archaeological Association awards: Best Book, Best Site and Best Community Project
'Requiem', Barney Sloane and Roberta Gilchrist won the scholarly book award for their publication which was designed and produced on an EH-production grant.
Prittlewell won in the 'most important developer-funded site' category, with a statuette going to Southend District Council.
Roy Stephenson et al won a runner's up certificate for the Shoreditch Community Dig.

The Current Archaeology Developer-Funded Archaeology Award
MOLA Northampton (then Northamptonshire Archaeology) won this award for excavations at Gayhurst barrow cemetery, Buckinghamshire at the British Archaeological Awards.

Best Book on London Archaeology 2002 and 2003
The MoLAS publication 'Investigating the maritime history of Rotherhithe' by Kieron Heard with Damian Goodburn (MoLAS Stud. Ser. 11) won 1st prize. The award was presented by SCOLA and the London Archaeologist at the Society of Antiquaries in November 2004.

New Generation Book of the Year (Longman and History Today)
Awarded to MOLA for the publication 'London's Archaeological Secrets: A World City Revealed', Chris Thomas (ed) 2003. The awards are made to foster a wider understanding of and enthusiasm for history, and the ‘New Generation Book of the Year’ Award is made to the author of the book ‘most likely to stimulate imaginative involvement in, and enthusiasm for, history in young people of secondary school age.’